Skip to content

A Sad Day

May 21, 2010

Brian O'Connor with his Grandmother Francis Jones on her 90th Birthday

For just a brief moment I want to take a break from politics and the news to talk about something personal.

This morning, my 92 year old maternal Grandmother passed away.  About 10 days ago she suffered a major stroke which paralyzed the entire left side of her body and it was complications from that stroke which finally resulted in her passing.

I will always remember my Grandmother as a social butterfly.  She enjoyed being in a room filled with family, friends and neighbors, floating from one person to the next, certain to talk to everyone in the room.  She was a lovely woman, dressed to the nines for every occasion and often in bold animal prints or colorful patterns.  She had a passion for arts and crafts and spent much of the last few years painting and drawing.

Of all the memories I have of my Grandma, the one I treasure most is her reading Sesame Street’s “The Monster at the end of This Book” to me EVERY time I spent the night at their house.  She did it with such passion and joy that I was more excited after my bedtime story that I was before it.  Thank you Grandma.

Although I will miss her dearly, I know that she gave her life to the Lord and that I will see her again one day.

Rest In peace Grandma. I love you.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2010 1:42 pm

    Sorry to hear that Brian. You were fortunate to have her as long as you did. My condolences to you and your family.

  2. Lynne Evans Sprowls permalink
    May 21, 2010 1:53 pm

    I’m very sorry for your loss, although I do not know you. John LaRosa posted a note asking for prayers for you, which I have done. Your Grandma sounds like a wonderful lady, and as John said, you were blessed to have her as long as you did. May she live on in you, in the way you interact with your children and grandchildren. ❤ And as a believer myself I can say that yes, you WILL see her again one day. Peace to you and yours at this difficult time, Lynne

  3. Cynthia Hoffman permalink
    May 21, 2010 2:35 pm

    Thank you Brian that was awsome! Grandma was such a beautiful person inside also she had found her purpose in life by ministering to the other members of her senior center. She would vist every single person, especially the ones who would sit alone and would talk to them and pray for them. We were truly blessed to have known her! My most recent favorite memory was when her great-grandson was playing with a yoyo and she ask him if she could try, she had such a glint in her eye as she performed the tricks on the yoyo and said” yeah I still got it”.

    Yes Grandma, Jesus is welcoming you home!
    You will be missed and cherished<3

  4. May 21, 2010 5:08 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear of your loss. Cynthia mentioned her to me this past weekend and I’m sad that she passed away. You have our love.
    Mike, Madelynne and Michael John

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention A Sad Day « Red Dog Report -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

